Mel McDowell Award

Mel McDowell Award

This trophy was presented to the Association by Captain Jerry Barnes and his wife Betty both ex Crew United Airlines living in Polaris Montana, in the memory of Mel McDowell a dear friend to them and many members of the NZRCA. Mel McDowell attended two National Finals Rodeos in New Zealand and was the father of Jock who conducted a Saddle Bronc School here in 1978, and also father and father-in-law of Melva and Cleve Loney who ran Saddle Bronc and Barrel Racing schools here. Mel was killed on his ranch in Montana while Melva and Cleve were in New Zealand.

It is with the respect Mel had for Rodeo in New Zealand that the Barnes made this presentation knowing Mel’s wish was to help promote Rodeo in New Zealand. The trophy is known as the Mel McDowell Memorial Trophy Montana USA for the Promotor, Club, Persons or Person doing the most for the promotion of rodeo in any given year.

The Board decides who to present this trophy to, only when fully justified and not necessarily every year.


Mel McDowell - Promoter of the Year
2019 Gemma Oliver
2018 Gemma Oliver
2017 Not Awarded
2016 Kathy Tisdall
2015 Shane Bird
2014 Wanaka Club
2013 Not Awarded
2012 Henrietta Purvis
2011 Lee Church
2010 Paul Terry
2009 Michelle Potts
2008 Not Awarded
2007 Not Awarded
2006 Not Awarded
2005 Craig Wiggins
2004 Craig Wiggins
2003 Craig Wiggins
2002 Lawrence Rodeo Club
2001 Karin Cameron
2000 Graeme Kenny Waimarino Rodeo Club
1999 Not Awarded
1998 Colin Booth
1997 Upper Mohaka Club
1996 Upper Mohaka Club
1995 Not Awarded
1994 Not Awarded
1993 Nathan Booth
1992 Not Awarded
1991 Stephen and Brigid Roke
1990 Claremont Rodeo Assn
1989 RV Buckingham
1988 IJ Nichol
1987 IS Buckingham
1986 IS Buckingham

If you wish to nominate someone for this award then the a full explanation of what the nominee has done and why they deserve the award must be with the National Secretary the Board Meeting before the AGM.