12 March 2018



12 March 2018



Michael Laws

National Spokesperson

NZ Rodeo @ Cowboys Association


027 453 5575







At a gala dinner held in Wanaka last night, to conclude the NZ Rodeo season for 2017/2018, the sport’s major award winners were announced and appropriately honoured.


The remarkable dominance of outstanding Rotorua rodeo rider Corey Church has continued with Corey Church repeating last season’s triumph and winning the ‘All Round Champion’ award.


Church won his first national title in 2009 and shows no signs of relinquishing his hold over his rodeo rivals.


Other award winners were –




Bareback John Hughes (Fairlie, South Canterbury)

Rope and Tie Patrick McCarthy (Wanaka, Central Otago)

Saddle Bronc Graeme Gannon (Tutira, Hawkes Bay)

Barrel Race Jenny Atkinson (Middlemarch, Otago)

Team Roping Header Marcus Spencer-Bower (Rangiora, Canterbury)

Team Roping Heeler Brent Crowe (Rangiora, Canterbury)

Bull RideChad Ormsby (Tirau, Waikato)

All Round Champion Corey Church (Rotorua, Bay of Plenty)


President Lyal Cocks of Wanaka, who hosted this year’s national finals, declared the season "one of the best ever. We’ve witnessed some incredible athleticism from the competitors and many of our rodeo events have enjoyed record crowds.”


" The controversy over rodeo has actually promoted our sport to a wider audience, and rejuvenated many former competitors to get involved again.


" We would like to thank our sponsors, administrators and spectators and acknowledge the ability and courage of all those who participate in this great New Zealand rural sport.”